The Crucible


Rooted firmly

open am I

to every opening

porous

to every breathing

of the earth

Eyes alight

the ancient python

uncoils its serpent fire

inside me

Arms raised

I stand in salutations

burning in the crucible

of my alchemical experience

Burn me

purify

transform me

keen the blade of my perception

in your transforming

Fire

  1. #1 by Existential Poet on April 6, 2010 - 12:50 pm

    A very interesting poem. The ancient python uncoiling its serpent fire … this poem reminds me of a sort of yogic kundalini alchemical experience. But poetry has levels, and metaphorical connections, of course. And these are not necessarily direct connections. That’s what I like about poetry in general, and in specific poems, too.

    Your blog looks so good already! šŸ™‚ I like the quotes by Hugh Downs and Buzz Aldrin.

    • #2 by verewig on April 6, 2010 - 1:13 pm

      Thank you, I am still finding my way. Ah yes, layers upon layers, thats what I love about poetry. A word arise in the mind from ancient primordial depths, always calling to swim yet deeper, to the moment before the breath formed the uttering.

      I look forward to explore your blog in greater depth. Another’s poetry always evokes unthought of connections.

      Sophia

Leave a Reply

