Keeper of the Key VIII


By: Gallego Caldas Jordi

About The Keeper of the Key

Previously …

The Keeper of the Key 1
The Keeper of the Key II
Keeper of the Key III
Keeper of the Key IV
The Keeper of the Key V
Prelude to Keeper of the Key VI
The Keeper of the Key VI
The Keeper of the Keys VII

I felt absolutely paralyzed, as if I was immersed in a lake of pure fear. I could not even scream so overwhelming was the fear. I knew that there was no way out, no turning back. The first coils of its bulk reached me and rubbed against me. I could feel its immense embodied power in the coils. Almost simultaneously in that instant when it touched me and when I reached a point of unbearable fear, in that instant my fear dissolved into love. An all-consuming love, a love, such as I could never have imagined. I wrapped myself around its body and immersed myself in the love so that I was no longer feeling the love but became the love.

I became conscious of being as I drifted to the surface of the river, the flames of the braziers calling me back harbour. Dazed, I joined the others surfacing from the river. In naked silence we stood before the blacksmith. His dark eyes was filled knowing compassion as he handed each one of us a black robe.

“Now take up your shield, and follow me …” he said simply, turned and walked back up the steps.

With numbness I found my shield and as I saw the serpent embossed on its surface I felt breathless in recognition. Layers of meaning just flooded into my awareness. Tears reached up from deep inside me as I realized what I was taking up as I took my shield. I have the key now I have to find the door.

In the dark of the night
where deathscapes of hopelessness
haunts the unwary traveler of the Path
The Shield of illuminated Faith will protect me
From the flaming arrows of despair
From giving up the quest
And I will don the helmet
of hope that will illuminate
my path through the land of shadows

To be continued …

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by buttercup600 on July 18, 2010 - 12:40 am

    Wow…such powerful vivid imagery!! You truly are very talented and can’t wait for the next chapter!! Thank you so much for sharing xx

  2. #2 by verewig on July 18, 2010 - 8:35 am

    Thank you, your comment is much appreciated. I was wondering whether anyone was actually reading it. It is always so much better to share, and knowing someone is reading it also means that I cannot give up on the story halfway through. I must let it unfold to its natural end. This is an experiment in “walking your talk” for me; reflecting that nothing in life is a coincidence and that every seemingly irrelevant event connects. I do not preplan the sequels, I literally let the story unfold week by week so that my own experiences intertwine with the unfoldment.

    Much love,
    Sophia

  3. #3 by contoveros on July 20, 2010 - 2:36 am

    This is my first taste of the story. Want to come back for another bite or two. Thanks.

    michael j

  4. #4 by braonthree on July 20, 2010 - 3:55 pm

    Another gripping photo. I’ve always liked quest stories, and back in the nineties started to write some myself.

    • #5 by verewig on July 20, 2010 - 8:23 pm

      Anne, thank you for your comment. Have you posted your stories? I just had a look at your site and I will be going back often.

  5. #6 by Wendy on July 22, 2010 - 6:53 pm

    This is lovely writing. Reminds me of many moments in my own dream life where I’ve awakened inside a dream full of wonder. I like that you’re writing week to week, allowing daily life to immerse itself into the stories. Curious…do you ever turn your dreams into short stories?

    • #7 by verewig on July 22, 2010 - 8:05 pm

      Thank you Wendy, it is much appreciated coming from you; your writing is really exquisite.

      I have indeed writen many short stories from my dreams. I think it is a natural progression when you keep dream journals and do dreamwork. Nightmares especially should never be left unfinished. It should be rewoven into a positive outcome. Some dreams I have are short stories in themselves. The first time I ever had a lucid dream was when I had an amzing dream and I wanted to continue the story …

      Sophia

Leave a Reply

